The House of Blue Light - 1987

Line up:

Ian Gillan - Lead Vocals
Ritchie Blackmore - Guitar
Roger Glover - Bass, Backing Vocals
Jon Lord - Organ, Keyboards, Backing Vocals
Ian Paice - Drums
The House of Blue Light - 1987

All songs by Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Gillan and Roger Glover except where noted.
Side One:
  1. Bad Attitude (Blackmore, Gillan, Glover, Jon Lord) – 4:43 (5:04 on original release)
  2. The Unwritten Law (Blackmore, Gillan, Glover, Ian Paice) – 4:34 (4:54 on original release)
  3. Call of the Wild (Gillan, Blackmore, Glover, Lord) – 4:50 (4:48 on original release)
  4. Mad Dog – 4:29 (4:36 on original release)
  5. Black And White (Blackmore, Gillan, Glover, Lord) – 3:39
  6. Hard Lovin' Woman – 3:24
  7. The Spanish Archer – (Instrumental) 4:56
  8. Strangeways – 5:56
  9. Mitzi Dupree – 5:03
  10. Dead or Alive – 4:42


	The House of Blue Light is the twelfth studio album by Deep Purple, released in 1987.
	It is the second recording by the re-formed Mark II lineup.

	The album's creation was an exceedingly long and difficult process, and Ritchie Blackmore
	has said much of it was re-recorded. Ian Gillan has remarked on how strained relations
	within the band compromised the album: "I look back at House Of Blue Light, there are some good songs
	on that record, but there’s something missing in the overall album.
	You can’t feel a spirit of the band, you can see or hear five professionals doing their best,
	but it’s like a football team, it’s not functioning.
	It’s like eleven superstars that are playing on the same field but are not connected by the heart or by the spirit".

	Several tracks on the LP version are shorter than those of the original CD released in 1987.
	The 1999 CD remaster used the original vinyl master tapes, and so its running time
	is correspondingly shorter than the original CD version as well.