STUDIO ALBUM Previous Album Previous Album Next Album Next Album Next Album

Abominog - 1982 Abominog
Released: March 1982
Recorded October/December 1981 at The Roundhouse Recording Studios, Chalk Farm, London
Label: Bronze Records UK
Producer: Ashley Howe

Line up:

Peter Goalby - Lead Vocals
Mick Box - Lead Guitars
John Sinclair - Keyboards/Synthesizer/Guitars/Back Vocals
Bob Daisley - Bass Guitar
Lee Kerslake - Drums
Abominog is the 14th album Uriah Heep.
It was the first album without Ken Hensley (Keyboard).
Tevor Bolder left the band, replacing John Wetton in Wishbone Ash.
Mick Box decided to form a new group, but he has changed his mind and decided to continue with the Uriah Heep name.
It is the first of three albums to feature vocalist Peter Goalby and keyboard player John Sinclair.
Drummer Lee Kerslake returned to the band together bassist Bob Daisley, the two of whom had been founding members
of Ozzy Osbourne's Blizzard of Ozz.
On 'Abominog' 5 tracks are cover versions:
  • On the Rebound originally recorded by Russ Ballard (1980).
  • Hot Night in a Cold Town (Geoffrey Cushing-Murray/Richard Littlefield) originally recorded by John Cougar (1979), and John Kay & Steppenwolf from their 'Wolftracks' album (1982).
  • Running All Night (with the Lion) originally recorded by Lion (Sinclair's previous band) (1980).
  • That's the Way That It Is originally recorded by Paul Bliss and The Bliss Band (1979).
  • Think It Over originally recorded by Uriah Heep featuring John Sloman on Lead Vocal (1980).
Remastered CD 1997
Expanded De-Luxe 2004
Side A:
  1. Too Scared to Run (Box/Daisley/Goalby/Kerslake/Sinclair) - 3:49
  2. Chasing Shadows (Box/Daisley/Goalby/Kerslake/Sinclair) - 4:39
  3. On the Rebound (Russ Ballard) - 3:14
  4. Hot Night in a Cold Town (Cushing-Murray, Littlefield) - 4:03
  5. Running All Night (with the Lion) (Farr/Box/Daisley/Goalby/Kerslake/Sinclair) - 4:28
Side B:
  1. That's the Way That It Is (Paul Bliss) - 4:06
  2. Prisoner (Lance/Cooper/Riparetti) - 4:33
  3. Hot Persuasion (Box/Daisley/Goalby/Kerslake/Sinclair) - 3:48
  4. Sell Your Soul (Box/Daisley/Goalby/Kerslake/Sinclair) - 5:25
  5. Think It Over (Sloman/Bolder) - 3:42