Back to the Uriah Heep page Official Gary Thain website Gary Thain Discography Home

Me and The Others
Gary Thain
(Gary Mervin Thain)
May 15, 1948 (Christchurch, New Zealand) - December 8, 1975 (Norwood Green, England)

He had two older brothers, Colin and Arthur.
Old school mates describes Gary's personality as being quiet, with a passion for music.
Gary went to a catholic school called Xavier College in Christchurch.

In the left photo is Gary Thain in 'Me and the Others', with
Paul Muggleston, Peter Dawkins and Dave Chapman.
Gary is on the left of picture but we don't know for the others who is who ...

Gary went to a catholic school called Xavier College in Christchurch.
He started performing around age 13.
The official start to his career was with the New Zealand group
'The Strangers':
  • Arthur Thain - Lead Guitar/Vocals
  • Gary Thain - Bass
  • Graeme Ching - Rhythm Guitar
  • Dave Beattie - Drums
'The Strangers' released 3 Singles:
  • My Blue Heaven / The Dark at the Top of The Stairs (1963)
  • Pretend / Alright (1964)
  • Can't Help Forgiving You / I'll Never Be Blue (1965)
  • The Secrets
    After 'The Strangers' split up, Gary moved to Australia. Gary became part of 'The Secrets', and they released two Singles:
    • It's You / You're Wrong (1965)
    • Me and the Others / Love Is Not a Game (1966)
    The Strangers: Derek Wright - Lead Guitar and Vocals, Paul Muggleston - Rhythm Guitar and Vocals, Wayne Allen - Drums and of course, Gary Thain - Bass. In 1966 'The Secrets' split up. Gary Thain and Paul Muggleston joined up with Peter Dawkins and Dave Chapman, taking the name 'Me and The Others' to the UK, touring England, Scotland, Wales and Germany. In 1967 after 'Me and The Others' disbanded, Gary became part of his first professional Band called 'New Nadir' - a Jazz influenced trio, with Ed Carter - guitar and a Mike Kowalski - Drums. They also worked as a backing band for a girls group called 'The Toys'. New Nadir recorded an album for the 'Witchseason' label un-released. In 1968 New Nadir dissolved and Mike and Ed have since then played in many bands together, and even were part of the Beach Boys backing band. In 1969 Gary Thain joined “Champion Jack Dupree”, relesed one LP - 'Scoobydoobydoo' and a Single - 'Ba La Fouche' (MT/Jack Dupree) / 'Kansas City' (Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller). In Champion Jack Dupree, Gary Thain used the pseudonym Wallace Tring. In 1970 Gary Thain played Bass Guitar on Martha Velez's 'Fiends and Angels' (1970). Gary joined The Keef Hartley Band, recorded six albums:
    • Halfbreed (1969)
    • The Battle of North West Six (1969)
    • The Time is Near (1970)
    • Little Big Band Live at The Marquee 1971 (1971)
    • Overdog (1971)
    • Seventy-Second Brave (1972)
    Also he played on Miller Anderson’s 'Bright City' (1971) and 'Pete York Percussion BandPete York Percussion Band' (1972).
    And then ... Ken Hensley called Gary Thain and thus he joined Uriah Heep, replacing Mark Clarke.
    Gary's first gig with Uriah Heep was on February 1, 1972 at the Whiskey A Go-Go in Los Angeles, California.
    With Uriah Heep Gary Thain recorded four LPs and the Double LP Uriah Heep Live - January 1973:
    • Demons and Wizards (May 1972)
    • The Magician's Birthday (November 1972)
    • Uriah Heep Live (January 1973)
    • Sweet Freedom (Septeember 1973)
    • Wonderworld (June 1974)
    The remastered edition (released 2003) also includes 'Crystal Ball' and 'Gary's Song'. During his last tour with Uriah Heep, Thain suffered an electric shock at the Moody Coliseum in Dallas, Texas on 15 September 1974 and was seriously injured. Winter 1974: Divorce from Carol, gets married to second wife Mika (from Japan), but in the Summer of 1975 the second marriage ends. Gary's health never fully recovered and in February of 1975 he had to leave the band. Gary Thain died December 8, 1975, in his flat at Norwood Green at the young age of 27.
    Gary Thain (1973)
    Gary Thain's death news Gary Thain's thumb

    Back to the Uriah Heep page Top Home